







Rt Hon Matt Hancock MP Secretary of State for Health and Social Care Department of Health and Social Care 39 Victoria Street London SW1H 0EU

10 December 2020

Dear Secretary of State,

## World AIDS Day 2020 and #0HIVby30 - Ending all new HIV transmissions by 2030

During 2020 our national public health efforts have rightly focused on a health emergency of a different kind, the national challenge of COVID-19. This Worlds AIDS Day, we reflected on the significant parallels with the national challenge of the HIV and AIDS epidemic, the significant human impact this has had, but also more positively, to reflect on the huge progress and strides forward we have made in recent years on HIV prevention, treatment and care. This includes your welcome commitment in 2019 to ending new HIV transmissions by 2030.

This gives us significant reasons to be hopeful. New HIV diagnoses continue to decline, and we need to build on this success. Whether it is the opportunities presented through a successful roll out of PrEP to all those who could benefit, ensuring we increase HIV testing across a range of NHS settings - to ensure everyone living with HIV is diagnosed, or vitally that everyone living with HIV is on successful treatment to protect their own health, but also so they are undetectable and cannot pass the virus on.

We have the tools at our disposal to reach 0 HIV by 30 – ending new HIV transmissions nationally in ten years' time. This would be a significant national achievement and something we could all be rightly proud of. This is an issue that transcends party politics. We are writing to you collectively offering our cross-party support for this agenda, representing constituencies right across the UK. Crucially going forward, we must not lose momentum at this vital stage in the nation's response.

The independent HIV Commission, of leading experts from business, healthcare, academia and politics reported on World AIDS Day and outlined a series of recommendations which could lay the course to end HIV. We hope that the Government will review these closely.

We ask that the government reconfirms its existing commitment to ending transmissions by 2030 and to ensure close working with devolved nations to take this shared commitment forward. We must grasp the opportunity to be the first country to do this and ask that your Department commits to outline plans to reach this ambitious but achievable goal in a National HIV Action Plan, with work to begin in early 2021. You have our support in this vital endeavour and we request that you regularly update us and Parliament on the progress of this commitment.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Brine MP, Winchester

Stephen Doughty MP, Cardiff South & Penarth

Wes Streeting MP, Ilford North

Elliot Colburn MP, Carshalton & Wallington Crispin Blunt MP, Reigate Caroline Lucas MP, Brighton Pavilion Dr Philippa Whitford MP, Central Ayrshire Clive Lewis MP, Norwich South Rt Hon Caroline Nokes MP. Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP, Romsey and Southampton North Brighton, Kemptown Pauline Latham OBE MP, The Rt Hon David Mundell MP, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale Mid Derbyshire Nicola Richards MP. Neil Covle MP. West Bromwich East Bermondsey & Old Southwark Rt Hon Andrew Mitchell MP. Sharon Hodgson MP, Sutton Coldfield Washington and Sunderland West Mark Menzies MP, Fylde Jim Shannon MP, Strangford Virendra Sharma MP, Ealing Southall Alison Thewliss MP, Glasgow Central Ben Bradshaw MP, Exeter Andy Slaughter MP, Hammersmith Catherine McKinnell MP, Newcastle North Andrew Gwynne MP, Denton & Reddish Martyn Day MP, Linlithgow & East Falkirk Sarah Champion MP, Rotherham Paula Barker MP, Liverpool Wavertree Rosie Cooper MP, West Lancashire Rachel Hopkins MP, Luton South Mohammad Yasin MP, Bedford Wendy Chamberlain MP, North East Fife Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP, Streatham Alex Davies-Jones MP, Pontypridd Simon Fell MP, Barrow and Furness William Wragg MP, Hazel Grove Robert Largan MP, High Peak Jacob Young MP, Redcar Patrick Grady MP, Glasgow North Fleur Anderson MP, Putney Baroness Barker

Lord Cashman

**Baroness Jolly** 

Baroness Masham of Ilton

Lord Navnit Dholakia PC,OBE,DL

Lord Robert Hayward OBE

Lord Smith of Finsbury

Lord Black of Brentwood

Lord Herbert of South Downs